His Eye is on the Sparrow

vesper-sparrow--michael-woodruffRead or Listen: Matthew 6:25-34

Growing up within a music minister’s house, music always filled the house. As I have grown up, I have grown to cherish the nights as a child listening to and singing the hymns that, for many of us, have spoken so much into our lives. As I read this passage I was immediately reminded of the great hymn His Eye is on the Sparrow. When asked about the inspiration to write the song, Civilla Martin said-

“Early in the spring of 1905, my husband and I were sojourning in Elmira, New York. We contracted a deep friendship for a couple by the name of Mr. and Mrs. Doolittle—true saints of God. Mrs. Doolittle had been bedridden for nigh twenty years. Her husband was an incurable cripple who had to propel himself to and from his business in a wheel chair. Despite their afflictions, they lived happy Christian lives, bringing inspiration and comfort to all who knew them. One day while we were visiting with the Doolittles, my husband commented on their bright hopefulness and asked them for the secret of it. Mrs. Doolittle’s reply was simple: “His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.” The beauty of this simple expression of boundless faith gripped the hearts and fired the imagination of Dr. Martin and me.”

There is so much hope in this passage! We can have hope TODAY that God sees us where we are. He sees what we need and when we need it. We do not walk alone today, because He has already gone before us!

Today, may we not be anxious, but seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness!

Prime-Time Discussion:

Discuss a time in your life where the Lord has provided for You in some way.

Write down the things that You are anxious about today.  Then take a minute to write down the blessings that God has blessed you with. What are some things you are thankful for?

Night-Time Prayer:

Lord, I lay down the things that I have written down that I am anxious about today. I am trusting in You as my provider. Help me seek FIRST Your kingdom and Your righteousness today.

devotion by Channing Gillespie