Resurrection Power – Part 2

Read or Listen: 1 Corinthians 15:20-28

Cross-and-Empty-Tomb-610x351Some Christians have a supreme desire for money or things…some focus on living with ease and pleasure…some are consumed with ego and popularity. These are all temptations, but the Lord wants us to have a passion for Him and for His work!

Paul said in Philippians 3:10, “That I may know Him, and the power of His resurrection.” Paul wanted the same power that God used to raise Jesus from the dead to flow through His life every day…and through ours as well. The very power that God used to bring Jesus out of the tomb…can flow through our lives every day…to give us the strength we need to live victoriously and joyfully!

Resurrection power is not only saving power (yesterday’s devotion), but also living power! Paul expressed in Galatians 2:20: “I am crucified with Christ, nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ lives in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, Who loved me and gave Himself for me.”

Many Christians have trusted in the power of the resurrection to save them, but they have not trusted in that same power to work in the lives in a very practical way day by day. Power to control our thoughts…power to tame our tongue…power to keep us going when things are tough…power to be kind when others are mean…power to thank Jesus when we want to complain…power to be selfless and humble instead of selfish and proud!

In closing, resurrection power is dying power… the grave is not a dead-end street for us; it is a highway to heaven. “Because I live,” Jesus said, “you shall live also” (John 14:19). “I am the resurrection and the life; he who believes in me, though he were dead, yet shall he live” (John 11:25). Jesus’ resurrection power conquered death for us, the power that makes it possible for Christians to shout: “O death, where is thy sin? O grave, where is thy victory?”

The power of His resurrection: saving power, living power, and dying power. The greatest power in the universe! And this power is yours as you put your faith in Jesus Christ!

Prime-Time Discussion:

Name two areas in your daily life where you desire more of God’s strength to replace your weakness.

How often do you pray, “Lord, help me to die to myself, so that Your Holy Spirit can fill me with Your fullness and life.”

Is it really possible for a Christian to live above the junk and dirt and sin of the world…and our life look like Jesus’ life?

Night-Time Prayer:

Help me to live each day dead to my selfish self…so that Your life can be seen in me. Use me to point others to you. I can’t do this in my strength; I need Your power! Amen.

devotion by Bob Cook