He Lives

0280=280Read or Listen: 1 Corinthians 15:20-28

I read an account recently about a gentleman named Rev. Alfred Ackley.

The story said that it was Easter Sunday, 1932.  Rev. Ackley was getting ready for the Sunday services; shaving and listening to the radio.  A well-known liberal preacher was proclaiming across the airwaves, “It’s Easter. You know folks, it really doesn’t make any difference to me if Christ is risen or not.  As far as I’m concerned, His body could be dust in some Palestinian tomb.  The main thing is, His truth goes marching on.”

Rev. Ackley was furious.  “It’s a lie!”, he yelled at the radio.  Later that morning, he preached about Christ’s resurrection with renewed fervor and passion, because he knew that the resurrection DID matter.  But, at the end of the day, he still felt that he had not yet said everything he wanted to say.

That very night Alfred Ackley composed a melody & wrote down these words:

I serve a risen Saviour, He’s in the world today;
I know that He is living, whatever men may say;
I see His hand of mercy, I hear His voice of cheer,
And just the time I need Him, He’s always near.

Rejoice, rejoice, O Christian, lift up your voice and sing
Eternal hallelujahs to Jesus Christ the King!
The Hope of all who seek Him, the Help of all who find,
None other is so loving, so good and kind.

He lives, he lives Christ Jesus lives today!
He walks with me and talks with me along life’s narrow way.
He lives, He lives, salvation to impart!
You ask me how I know He lives? He lives within my heart!

 

Prime-Time Discussion:

Make a list of why the resurrection matters to you in your life.

We sometimes take Jesus’ resurrection and the power that it gives for granted, and are often only mindful of it at Easter.  What can you do to make “resurrection power” a part of your daily walk with Christ?

Night-Time Prayer:

Risen Savior, we rejoice in the hope that we have in You. Thank you for the power that we have in You, Your daily presence in our lives, and Your gift of salvation.

devotion by Steve Gillespie